GroupFunctions | Help | BibSonomy
BibSonomy now supports HTTPS. Switch to HTTPS.
Home

Group functions

The group concept in BibSonomy allows you to meet people with the same reading interests. In groups, you can easily work on projects/articles or you can share interesting publications with your colleagues at your workplace. On this page, you will find short instructions for all group functions.


Search for a group and join it

 <File:1.png>

  1. Click on "groups" in the main menu - a menu will be displayed.

  2. Select "all groups" in the menu.

  3. You see all groups and some information about the group (name and description) in the first column.

  4. The last column (which you only can see when you are logged in to BibSonomy) shows the button "join" for each group. Click on the corresponding "join" button to apply for membership.

    <File:joinrequest1.png>

  5. In the field "reason", enter some text where you describe why you want to join this group (this information will be read by the group admin).

  6. Next to "captcha", check the box to make sure you are not a machine/robot.

  7. If you want other group members to get access to your documents, check the box next to "Share your documents with the group".

  8. Finally, click on "send request".

  9. The group administrator receives a message that you want to be a member of his/her group. So it's important to write a good explanation why you want to join. Only the group administrator can decide whether you will be accepted to the group or not.


Create a new group

Goal: This guide shows you how you can create a new group.

 <File:4.png>

  1. Click on "groups" in the main menu - a menu appears.

  2. Select "create new group".

  3. Fill out the form. It's important to describe the purpose of the new group in the field "reason for request". This is because our administrators will check each group request manually to prevent spam groups.

  4. Finally click on "request group".

  5. The administrators will check your group request. You will receive an email after our administrators accepted your request.


The group page

When you click on the name of a group, you get directed to the group page. There, you can see publications/bookmarks of the group, the group members and used tags.

 <File:overview.png>

  • Recently discussed posts: In the sidebar, click on show posts recently discussed by members of <group name>. On the following page, you can see all posts that were recently rated or commented by this group. Also, you can see the rating distribution of the posts.

  • CV: In the sidebar, click on the CV button. On the following page, you get an overview on the group (name, members, recently added bookmarks/publications).


Share bookmarks/publications with the group

In the dialogue "Edit your publication/bookmark post" which appears when you add or edit a (new) bookmark/publication, you have the possibility to share the entry with several groups/friends.

 <File:3.png>

  1. Under "post visibility", choose the option "other".

  2. Choose the group you want to share the publication/bookmark with.

  3. Click on "save" at the end of the page.

Another way to share a bookmark/publication with a group is to tag the specific bookmark/publication with the system tag for:<group name>. This way, it will be copied to the group's collection.

Note: When a member of a group deletes their BibSonomy account, their publications/bookmarks tagged with the system tag for:<group name> will still be available for the group. Otherwise, it will be lost for the group.
Also, if an entry shall be shared with several groups, it is useful to use the system tag.


Group discussions

When working in science, it is important to share thoughts and ideas with colleagues. In BibSonomy, you can discuss posts publicly, but also within groups.

When writing a comment on a post, you can restrict the comment's visibility for the group. To do so, click on "other" next to "visibility" and then choose the group's name. Your comment is now only visible for group members, even not for the owner of the entry (however, the average rating is always public).
This way, you can discuss relevant scientific publications within groups or recommend interesting articles to the group's members. To see which posts are discussed within a group, go to the group page and click on show posts recently discussed by members of <group name>.


Leave a group

To leave a group, go to the group page (click on the name of the group OR in the left main menu, click on "groups", then on the group's name and then on "posts").
In the sidebar on the right, there is a green button with the text "member". When you hover the mouse over this button, it will turn red and the text changes to "leave group". Click on it if you are sure you don't need this group any more.

 <File:leave.png>


Admin Functions

As the administrator of a group, you have access to several functions that other group members can't see. Click on "groups" in the left main menu, hover the mouse over your group's name and then, click on "settings".


Change settings

Only the admin of a group is able to change the group's settings.

<File:settings_neu.png>

  • Add general information and contact data

  • Group settings

    • Member list: You can choose if the member list should be public, private or public for members.
    • Shared documents: Choose if group members should have access to other members' documents (enabled) or not (disabled).
    • User join request: Choose if other users should be able to send join requests (enabled) or not (disabled).
  • Access the group's API key

  • Change the group's picture


Manage member list

Regular members of a group are only able to see the member list. They cannot change anything.

<File:userMembers.png>

Admins of the group are allowed to invite users to the group, manage join requests and assign roles to the group members.

 <File:adminJoin.png>
Available roles:

  • Administrator: This user has the most rights in a group. They are able to change group settings and manage join requests.
  • Moderator: Moderators are able to manage join requests, but they cannot change any group settings.
  • User: Regular users can use all availabe group functions, but they cannot change any group settings or manage join requests.

Group invites can be viewed, accepted or rejected in the settings in the tab "groups".

 <File:invite.png>


Change Curriculum Vitae

You are able to edit your group's CV. This is done the same way as you can edit your own CV.


Disband group

To disband a group, type "yes" into the text field next to "Are you sure?". Be careful: If you disband a group, all group documents will be lost.

 <File:delete.png>